|
The desperate
search for Madeleine McCann has been hijacked by conmen cashing in
on her family's heartache.
The official website, launched to help find the missing
four-year-old, has received more than 70million visits in three
days.
In a sickening ploy a series of Internet sites with similar names
have been created to exploit its high profile.
Some of them are filled with adverts, including many from well-known
British brands such as Abbey, the BBC's Good Homes magazine and Bryant Homes,
while others even divert users to gambling or pornographic websites.
Every time someone clicks on one of the Internet links, the firm
which set up the website is paid a fee by an advertising agency.
It is feared that hundreds of thousands of genuine well-wishers have
inadvertently visited the fake 'typosquatting' websites simply by
misspelling Madeleine's name.
The genuine site is accessed by www.findmadeleine.com or
www.bringmadeleinehome.com.
The McCann family reacted with anger and disbelief that their
campaign could be so cynically exploited.
Madeleine's uncle John McCann said: "We are incredibly disappointed
that people are taking advantage of people's generosity and using it
for commercial gain, rather than charitable purposes.
"It is a shame that people behave like this and they exploit the
generosity of the general population."
Scroll down for more...
 |
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
|
A picture of Madeleine is shown on the big screen
at the FA Cup Final |
He continued: "I am loth to use the phrase parasites, but
unfortunately that is what it seems like.
"It is up to people to be aware and it is up to us to circulate the
official website name to make sure that when people search for
Madeleine's site they get the right one."
So-called 'typosquatting' is a growing menace on the Internet and
involves registering domain names similar to those of popular
websites.
Some bogus sites are set up to imitate the original with the
intention of fraudulently obtaining personal details, such as bank
account numbers.
Others simply aim to increase traffic to their own services or sell
advertising space.
One of the companies exploiting the popularity of Madeleine's
website is Californiabased UltraRPM.
The firm registered at least three domain names similar to the
official site this week, one with just a single letter missing.
It then used a 'domain parking' company called Trafficz.com to
manage the site and fill it with adverts from mainly British
companies whose advertising agencies pay a fee for each visitor who
clicks on the links.
The fees are usually no more than about a penny a click, but can
rise up to ?40 in some cases.
 |
|
Maddy in her Everton football top |
Household-name companies on the websites reacted angrily and
demanded the sites be withdrawn.
A spokesman for Abbey said: "We knew nothing about this. All our
Internet adverts are managed by a private company.
"It looks like this fake site is using a search engine as lots of
companies have appeared on it. We are doing our best to remove the
advert as quickly as possible."
A spokesman for Bryant
Homes said: "We will alert
our national advertising agency to this and remove the advert as
soon as possible."
An eBay spokesman said: "If adverts for eBay appear inappropriately
on the Internet, we take immediate steps to have them removed. Where
this occurs, we would never again work with the organisation or
individuals responsible."
And Barratt Homes said: "This is totally unauthorised and totally
unacceptable. We have demanded that the link be removed
immediately."
Internet expert Colin Sweetman said 'typosquatting' could be
extremely lucrative. "If you misspell any well known company's
website address you are likely to end up on a typosquatting site.
"I always advise clients who are setting up a website to buy the
domain names which are close misspellings of their company's name to
avoid this kind of problem.
 |
|
Miss you: Amelie McCann, two, with her sister's
favourite toy Cuddle Cat yesterday |
"People doing this are mainly operating from the U.S. but it's
spreading rapidly.
"There is no way that advertising agencies will not be aware of this
phenomenon. But until the profile of this is raised it will
continue.
"When it's the misspelling of something like Google, that's one
thing, but to capitalise on the disappearance of a little girl is a
despicable practice."
The official website received more than five million hits in its
first 24 hours and visits have multiplied.
At one stage more than a million were viewing pages at the same
time.
The phenomenal interest is a clear indication of how deeply
Madeleine's disappearance has seared itself into the public
consciousness.
That is precisely what the McCann family intended. But even they
were 'overwhelmed' yesterday by the massive numbers of people who
have shown support or are trying to help by keeping Madeleine's
profile so high.
The exploitation has deeply upset Madeleine's parents Gerry and
Kate.
Mrs McCann's uncle Brian Kennedy said: "We can't put into words how
we feel about these people. If they are using Madeleine's website to
make money it is extremely unpleasant."
Jon Corner, 48, godfather to Madeleine's sister Amelie, said: "This
is outrageous.
"I'm extremely disappointed that the genuine efforts of the family
to try and get as much exposure as possible to get their daughter
home is being exploited for a quick buck."
Mr Corner, who runs a production company and helped set up the
genuine website, added: "The vast majority of people are appalled by
the abduction of this beautiful little girl and have been amazing in
the love and support they have given.
"But this shows there's another side of human nature that is
prepared to use this terrible situation for their own gain.
"We should try to remember that they are in the minority, though."
|
I would give all the money I have to get this little girl back!
- Steve, Stoke, UK, 19/5/2007 10:22
Oh... how much more can this family take.
- Torie, Lismore, Australia, 19/5/2007 10:24
What kind of world do we live in when just about everything comes down to GREED... How did we ever get to such a despicable place?!
- Carrie, Bristol, 19/5/2007 10:33
Yes there was one trying this on faceparty, utterly despicable. I told him what I thought in no uncertain terms
- Juli, london, 19/5/2007 10:36
Unwisely, we expect too much of the human race even though we are surrounded by evidence that many, even those in power, are totally lacking in principles.
- Michael Walsh, Liverpool, UK, 19/5/2007 12:26
Sickening indeed, but sadly there is an air of inevitability about it, what with the ongoing media circus and cringe-worthy bandwagon jumping by self-publicising opportunists.
Still, less about dodgy website, rip-offs, and what might charitably be considered 'well-meaning honest opportunism' on the part of certain organisations, companies and individuals who have decided to 'help', and back to the only question that matters: where is this kiddie?
- Ian, France, 19/5/2007 12:37
How sick, have these people no heart? Wonder how they would feel if it was part of their family.
- Jeanette, Stockport, 19/5/2007 12:41
Perhaps a world-wide question could be asked: "Do you know of anyone who has, in the last 2 weeks have suddenly "adopted" a lovely 4 year old girl. Someone, perhaps, who lives in your neighbourhood."
This little girl has to be somewhere, missing her family and her favourite cuddly kitty.
- Kath Cure, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, 19/5/2007 13:02
This story is heartbreaking - however, we aren't helpless and can ALL do our bit!
I personally have forwarded the genuine website link and a PDF copy of the official poster to everyone in my email address book - worldwide. This little one has a distinctive eye (the black on the pupil runs into the iris) This child cannot be hidden for long. Lets pray she is safe, and for a speedy return to her parents. God Bless you Maddie.
- Barbara, London, 19/5/2007 13:24
Where is she? Findng her is the only thing that matters but this worldwide publicity is confining her to incarceration- no-one could run the risk of her being seen in the outside world. What possible purpose can be served by showing the video of Madeleine at the Cup Final? She isn't going to be seen in public anywhere in the world- her distinguishing mark prevents it, no matter how her appearance may have been changed. The appeal should be to the kidnappers or those in the kidnappers immediate circle- someone knows something. Let the police do their job- criticism is totally unhelpful- only constructive advice by those who have experience in this field can help.. Find Madeleine- don't let the trail (and there must be some sort of trail) go completely cold.
- Margaret Maclean, Bournemouth, Dorset, 19/5/2007 14:11
Name and shame them - disgusting. Don't let this low life get away with it.
- Jax, Mumbai, India, 19/5/2007 14:45
Oh there really are some scumbags out there! Thankfully there are many good people - all wishing the best possible outcome for Madeleine and her family!
- Sally Roberts, London, UK, 19/5/2007 15:20
Margaret, I understand your sentiments re the Cup Final video of Madeleine, but the more this childs' photo is shown, plus the astronomical award offered, the more likelihood she will be discovered.
- Mary Doyle, Melbourne, Australia, 19/5/2007 15:57
I agree with Margaret in Bournemouth. I do not see how this publicity is supposed to help Madeleine, on the contrary it puts her life in danger (assuming she is still alive, which is by no means a given) because she is becoming way "too hot to handle". It is pretty obvious that people are doing all these things because it makes them feel better and less impotent.
As for all the donors, I don't see what the money is supposed to achieve but I would have a lot more respect for their motives if they had donated anonymously. I hope any money left over will be dedicated to finding other lost children.
- Tanya, Lincoln, 19/5/2007 17:31